I like this idea a lot. I show kids how to write their stories drawing mind maps of sorts but I really like your more complex version of the basic idea I start teenagers off on. I guess being an adult and being a writer there is no restriction of time and a bell ringing to signal the end of class. Last time I used a mind map was for writing a poem but it seems even better for drawing plaot and character ideas for a novel. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Sara Toole Miller - Fiction & Non-Fiction Writer

You have your idea.  You’ve done your research.  You know something about your main character.  Maybe you’ve even taken a crack at your first scene.  And now you’re stuck…  All those plot points we talked about in the 3 or 4-part narrative structure?  You’re having trouble coming up with plot points.  You just aren’t finding the ideas that you need to carry this project through to a finished novel.  This is when the Mind Map becomes a useful tool for writers.

I use mind maps for everything.  In spite of the fact that I love fancy software and organization techniques, some days I feel trapped by the confines of my computer screen.  I need to break free – really give my right brain some room to move around.  Remember that group work that you did in junior high? When your English teacher forced you into a…

View original post 780 more words

About loveofwords52

I love writing and I'm addicted to reading - I'll read anything and everything but I especially enjoy contemporary writing - always the hope of meeting the living writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Pingback: PLANNED OR SPONTANEOUS? WHICH ONE FITS YOU? « PM27's Blog

  2. Pingback: Sometimes Innovative Teaching Is Beside the Point | Elizabeth Kate Switaj

Leave a Reply

