Jackie Kay Scots and Rocks Away Tonight!


I’ve just returned from watching the poet Jackie Kay in The Art Club in Glasgow. She was fabulous – excellent poetry, amazing humour taking puns beyond anything I’d ever thought possible. If you’ve never read or heard or seen Jackie Kay reading her
work and talking to the audience, find a way to do it and soon. Like she said (quoting Maw Broon) – you’re a long time dead just give it a shot.
Live poetry just rocks!
(I’m looking for a good picture to insert but don’t want to lose that poetry high!)

About loveofwords52

I love writing and I'm addicted to reading - I'll read anything and everything but I especially enjoy contemporary writing - always the hope of meeting the living writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jackie Kay Scots and Rocks Away Tonight!

  1. KonciouSLea says:

    I’m a spoken word poet, so I can agree with you 100% that live poetry does ROCK. Please feel free to check out my fan page on Facebook-KonciouSLea (if you’re into that). I have…I think four videos on there from a benefit we raised money for. I will be posting more videos as soon as I can get this sling off my arm….and get to a Slam competition.

    • Thanks for commenting and I know that Jackie Kay gig wasn’t recent but I’m glad you agree. I’ve just looked at some of your stuff on Facebook and it all seems exciting to me. Good luck getting back into slamming – I’ve not quite got the hang of that yet – I mainly read and take part in spoken word events rather than the gutsy slamming (though I love to go and support too). šŸ˜‰ K

      • KonciouSLea says:

        Awe, you should. I wrote a poem that I used along with some raps I’d written YEARS ago, and came in 2nd place & made it to the grand-slam that year. It was/is an awesome experience. I used to love being on stage in my youth…still do. You never get over the feeling of people cheering for you.

  2. KonciouSLea says:

    I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. Congrats. Please see my post.

Leave a Reply

